Board of Directors

The CBCF Board of Directors is comprised of Members of Congress, business executives, and leaders in government and in the nonprofit sectors. Board members generously volunteer their time, expertise, and resources to support the CBCF’s mission. The Board of Directors’ guidance is vital to the growth and success of the CBCF’s programs and initiatives.

Specifically, the CBCF Board of Directors has been instrumental in:

  • Ensuring the Foundation’s financial integrity
  • Developing of community-based programs and public policy research
  • Growing the Foundation’s sponsored scholarships that prepare the next generation of leaders


Members of the CBCF Board of Directors may serve up to two three-year terms. The Board of Directors officially meets four times per year.

Meet the Board

  • Chair

    Rep. Cedric Richmond

    U.S. House of Representatives

  • President and CEO

    David A. Hinson

  • Vice Chair

    Lori Billingsley

    The Coca-Cola Company

  • Secretary

    Earle Jones

    Comcast, NBC Universal

  • Treasurer

    Janice Bryant Howroyd

    ACT-1 Group

  • Pamela G. Alexander

    Ford Motor Company Fund

  • Rep. Joyce Beatty

    U.S. House of Representatives

  • Ronald Blaylock

    GenNx360 Capital Partners

  • Aisha Bowe


  • Kevin Brown

    Dell, Inc.

  • Rep. Emanuel Cleaver, II

    U.S. House of Representatives

  • Shanti Das

    Press Reset Entertainment

  • Rep. Dwight Evans

    U.S. House of Representatives

  • Rep. Marcia L. Fudge

    U.S. House of Representatives

  • Dr. Henry Louis Gates, Jr.

    Harvard University

  • Denise James Gatling

    Vanguard Strategic Solutions, LLC

  • Rep. Alcee Hastings

    U.S. House of Representatives

  • Jocelyn Hope

    State Farm Insurance Companies

  • Fred Humphries


  • Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee

    U.S. House of Representatives

  • Leonard James III

    J3 Advisory Group

  • Lonnie Johnson

    Exxon Mobil, Retired

  • Tammy Jones

    Basis Investment Group

  • DeDe Lea


  • Dr. Keith Magee

    University College London

  • Dr. Troy L. Nash

    Newmark Knight Frank

  • Julia Simon

    Mary Kay Inc.

  • Al Smith

    Toyota Motor North America

  • Tonya Veasey

    OCG PR

  • Kevin Washington

    YMCA of the USA

  • Ex Officio
  • CBC Chairperson

    Rep. Karen Bass

    U.S. House of Representatives

  • CAC Chairperson

    Chaka Burgess

    Empire Consulting Group

  • CBC Spouses Chairperson

    Mrs. Dianne Cleaver

  • DIrector Emeritus

    Former Congressman Kendrick Meek