Press Releases

  • Uncategorized

    CBCF to Host Avoice Heritage Celebration

    Feb 19, 2014

    Contact: Shrita Sterlin-Hernandez,

    The Congressional Black Caucus Foundation, Inc. (CBCF) will host its fifth annual Avoice Heritage Celebration, 6 p.m. – 9 p.m., Wednesday, Feb. 26, at The Hamilton, 600 14th Street NW, Washington, DC. Andrea Roane WUSA TV9 morning anchor, will serve as emcee.

    The Avoice Heritage Celebration is the Foundation’s official Black History Month observance and the primary fundraiser for the Avoice Virtual Library Project. The Project preserves the rich history of the political and legislative contributions of African Americans for future generations.

    The event features an awards program honoring individuals and institutions that embody the spirit and mission of Avoice.

    WHO: Congressional Black Caucus Foundation, Inc.
    WHAT: Avoice Heritage Celebration
    WHEN: 6 p.m. – 9 p.m., Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2014
    WHERE: The Hamilton, 600 14th Street NW, Washington, DC

    The Foundation will present the following awards:

    CBC Member Archives Award: Rep. Eva Clayton from North Carolina, former CBC member who has made great strides in preserving papers for future generations and her commitment to sharing this important history with a global audience.

    The award will be presented by Rep. G.K. Butterfield and accepted by Rep. Eva Clayton.

    Distinguished Corporation Award: Comcast NBCUniversal for its commitment to cultivating minority civic engagement, public discourse on African-American history and the preservation of important historic artifacts through philanthropic or programmatic support.

    The award will be presented by Rep. Chaka Fattah, chairman of CBCF’s Board of Directors and accepted by Bret Perkins, vice president of external and government affairs for Comcast Corporation.

    Distinguished Organization Award: Lyndon Baines Johnson Presidential Library for the work that has been done in preserving President Johnson’s role in the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and in making legislative history accessible to communities nationwide.

    The award will be presented by Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson and accepted by Mr. Mark Updegrove, director for the Lyndon B. Johnson Library and Museum.

    Media capacity is limited. Please RSVP to



This year, the CBCF joins the #GivingTuesday movement with their 2019 campaign, "#iLeadiServeiGive." The campaign highlights the legacy and work of CBCF's Leadership Institute for Public Service.

Donate Now