CBC Spouses

The Congressional Black Caucus (CBC) Spouses are comprised of the wives and husbands of the African American members of the United States Congress. The CBC Spouses organization is a component of the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation Inc., a nonprofit non-partisan organization committed to public policy, research, education and leadership development. For more than 25 years, the Spouses have worked with donor sponsors to establish educational and training opportunities for high school and college students. The CBC Spouses laid the groundwork for the establishment of the CBCF’s internship and fellowship programs and in 1988, the Spouses established its first education scholarship program. Since then they have awarded more than $9 million in scholarships to deserving students.

For more information about the CBC Spouses contact Muriel Cooper, Senior Manager, Stakeholder Relations and Event Management at 202-263-2800 or mcooper@cbcfinc.org.

Meet the Spouses

  • Otto Beatty, Jr

    Rep. Joyce Beatty D-3 OH

  • Jonathan Buckney-Small

    Rep. Stacey Plaskett D-VI

  • Chairperson, CBC Spouses

    Dianne Cleaver

    Rep. Emanuel Cleaver D-05 MO

  • Rev. William Coleman

    Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman D-12 NJ

  • Vivian Creighton Bishop

    Rep. Sanford Bishop D-02 GA

  • Vera Davis

    Rep. Danny Davis D-07 IL

  • Mereda Davis Johnson

    Rep. Hank Johnson D-04 GA

  • Jerry L. Demings

    Rep. Val B. Demings D-10 FL

  • Dr. Sonya Douglass Horsford

    Rep. Steven Horsford D-4 NV

  • Alexandrea "Aly" Eber

    Rep. Colin Allred D-37 TX

  • Conan Harris

    Rep. Ayanna Pressley D-07 MA

  • Milford Hayes

    Rep. Jahana Hayes D-05 CT

  • Paulette Holloway Rush

    Rep. Bobby Rush D-01 IL

  • Dr. Nathaniel Horn

    Rep. Robin Kelley D-02 IL

  • Kennisandra Jeffries

    Rep. Hakeem Jeffries D- 08 NY

  • Dr. London Johnson Thompson

    Rep. Bennie Thompson D-02 MS

  • McArthur Lawrence

    Rep. Brenda Lawrence D-14 MI

  • Delores Lawson

    Rep. Al Lawson D-05 FL

  • Dr. Elwyn Lee

    Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee D-18 TX

  • Curtis McBath

    Rep. Lucy McBath D-06 GA

  • Simone-Marie L. Meeks

    Rep. Gregory Meeks D-05 NY

  • Rev. Dr. Clyde W. Oden, Jr.

    Rep. Barbara Lee D-13 CA

  • Melissa Oppenheimer

    Rep. Jamaal Bowman D-16 NY

  • Andrea Rael

    Rep. Joe Neguse D-02 CO

  • Leslie Small

    Rep. Nikema Williams D-05 GA

  • Patrick Ewing Strickland

    Rep. Marilyn Strickland D-10 WA

  • President and CEO, CBCF

    Tonya Veasey

    Rep. Mark Veasy D-33 TX

  • Karmen Walker Brown

    Rep. Anthony Brown D-04 MD

  • Colette Wallace McEachin

    Rep. A. Donald McEachin D-04 VA

  • Ambassador Sidney Williams

    Rep. Maxine Waters D-43 CA