CBCF Hosts Swearing-In Ceremony for the Congressional Black Caucus

The 115th Congress will have the largest CBC in history with 49 members


Anne Williams


WASHINGTON — On January 3, 2017 the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation, Incorporated (CBCF) hosted a Ceremonial Swearing-In for the Congressional Black Caucus (CBC) at the Warner Theatre, in Washington, DC.  At the beginning of each new Congress, the CBCF hosts this ceremonial event to honor the legacy of the CBC and mark the installation of its new and re-elected members.  Representative Cedric L. Richmond succeeds Representative G. K. Butterfield as the 25th Chair of the Congressional Black Caucus. The 115th Congress is comprised of 49 CBC members, the largest in CBC history.

“Today’s ceremony embodies the CBCF’s mission, values and institutional initiatives to advance the global black community by developing leaders,  informing policy and educating the public,” said A. Shuanise Washington, president and CEO of CBCF. “The CBC remains an integral part of the foundation’s leadership development programs. We know our progress over the years would not have been possible without the CBC’s courage, sacrifice and desire to help us build a platform for rising leaders in public service.”

The new members joining the Congressional Black Caucus are: Senator Kamala Harris, California; and Representatives Lisa Blunt Rochester, Delaware; Anthony Brown, Maryland; Val Demmings, Florida; Al Lawson, Florida; and Donald McEachin, Virginia.

In addition to Chair Richmond, the executive committee is comprised of Reps. André Carson, 1st Vice Chair; Karen Bass, 2nd Vice Chair; Rep. Brenda Lawrence, Secretary; and Gwen Moore, Whip.

“We’ve assembled this morning to celebrate historic achievements and acknowledge the progress of the Congressional Black Caucus as an institution,” said Rep. Richmond. “Even though it doesn’t look like it does sometimes, the arc is still bending. The 49 members of the CBC are committed to do our part. We will continue to bend the arc towards justice.”

During today’s ceremony, remarks were delivered by Democratic Leader, Nancy Pelosi; Democratic Whip, Steny Hoyer; and Assistant Democratic Leader, James E. Clyburn. The oath of office was administered by The Honorable Cleo Fields, Former Member, United States House of Representatives for the 4th Congressional District of Louisiana. The Honorable Troy A. Carter, Sr., District 7 Member of the Louisiana State Senate served as master of ceremony.

A replay of the live webcast can be viewed here.

The Congressional Black Caucus Foundation, Incorporated (CBCF), established in 1976, is a non-partisan, nonprofit, public policy, research and educational institute, committed to advancing the global black community by developing leaders, informing policy and educating the public.

Leave a Reply