CBCF Hosts Ceremonial Swearing-In for CBC Members

Contact: Shrita Sterlin-Hernandez,

Forty-six Congressional Black Caucus members take the oath of office in 114th Congress

WASHINGTON—The Congressional Black Caucus Foundation, Incorporated (CBCF) hosted the Congressional Black Caucus (CBC) Swearing-In Ceremony on Jan. 6, 2015. The time-honored tradition welcomed new and returning members to the Caucus. Rep. G.K Butterfield succeeded Chairwoman Marcia L. Fudge as the 24th CBC chairman for the 114th Congress. Forty-six CBC members took the oath of office in the Capitol Visitor Center Auditorium in the U.S. Capitol.

“This is a historic moment for the Congressional Black Caucus as they induct their largest group of African-American lawmakers in the organization’s history,” said A. Shuanise Washington, president and CEO of CBCF. “We applaud them for their commitment to public service and diligence to eliminating the disparities that affect so many African Americans.”

The new members joining the Congressional Black Caucus are Reps. Alma Adams, 12th District of North Carolina; Brenda Lawrence, 14th District of Michigan; Mia Love, 4th District of Utah; Bonnie Watson Coleman, 12th District of New Jersey; and Del. Stacey Plaskett of the Virgin Islands.

Chairman Butterfield’s executive board for the 114th session includes Reps. Yvette Clarke, 1st vice chair; Andre Carson, 2nd vice chair; Karen Bass, secretary; and Hakeem Jeffries, whip.

“The new Congress provides a fresh start to address the issues that are important to us all,” said Rep. Butterfield, the CBC chairman. “Members of the CBC come from every region of the country. While we each have our own priorities, we speak with a singular, powerful voice in our fight to deliver on the expectations of Americans—to have a government that works for us all.”

“Through CBCF’s Leadership Institute for Public Service, we will continue developing young leaders who aim to follow in CBC members’ paths,” said Washington.

More than 125 African Americans have been elected to Congress over the past 40 years, including former CBC member and current President of the United States Barack Obama.

MSNBC Television Host, Joy-Ann Reid served as emcee. Special remarks were delivered by Democratic Leader, Nancy Pelosi, Democratic Whip Steny Hoyer, and Rep. James Clyburn.


Leave a Reply