CBCF Announces Four Newly Elected Board Officers

New officers will enhance the board’s focus on leadership cultivation and help CBCF strengthen economic empowerment and civic engagement

March 11, 2022

Kyla M. Clark

Washington – The Congressional Black Caucus Foundation, Incorporated (CBCF) today announced four newly elected board officers who will help support CBCF’s work to advance the global Black community by developing leaders, informing policy, and educating the public.  

“We’re grateful for the leadership Lori Billingsley, Tonya Veasey, Representative Colin Allred, Earle Jones, and Janice Bryant Howroyd provided during 2021,” said CBCF president and CEO Nicole Austin-Hillery. “We have worked diligently to ensure CBCF’s board leadership represents a variety of experts from government leadership, business experts, and advocacy groups. We welcome our four new officers as they bring tremendous diverse expertise and insight to our work.”

CBCF also chose Representative Terri Sewell, who proudly represents Alabama’s 7th congressional district, as its new board chair. She is one of the first women elected to Congress from Alabama in her own right and is the first Black woman to serve in the Alabama Congressional delegation. In addition, Congresswoman Sewell is a member of the Congressional Black Caucus and co-chairs its Voting Rights Task Force.

“I am personally thrilled to welcome such a strong team of newly elected board officers,” said Lori Billingsley. “I am also pleased that Representative Terri Sewell will lead the next chapter of our work in her new role as board chair.”

The newly elected board officers begin their two-year term with CBCF effective February 23, 2022. The four newly elected board officers are:

  • Congresswoman Terri Sewell, United States Representative for Alabama’s 7th Congressional District; CBCF Board Chair
  • Chaka BurgessCEO of Nation Strategies; CBCF Board Vice-Chair  
  • Kevin Brown, Executive Vice President, Global Operations & Chief Supply Chain Officer, Dell Technologies.; CBCF Board Secretary
  • Markus Green, Vice President & Assistant General Counsel for Pfizer, Inc.; CBCF Board Treasurer

Representative Terri Sewell added, “On behalf of the board, I want to express our gratitude to Lori Billingsley, who has concluded her service as a valued board chair. Lori has provided visionary leadership for the staff and board. We wish Lori, Representative Sheila Jackson Lee, Janice Bryant Howroyd, Earle Jones, Dr. Troy Nash, and Julia Simon the best in their future endeavors.

To learn more about the CBCF board and read member bios, click here.


About the CBCF

Established in 1976, the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation, Inc. (CBCF) is a non-partisan, nonprofit, public policy, research, and educational institute committed to advancing the global black community by developing leaders, informing policy, and educating the public. For more information, visit

To receive updates on CBCF news, research, programs, and events, subscribe to receive the e-newsletter and follow @CBCFinc on Twitter and Instagram.